Pay Per Click Search Engine Optimization
Pay-per-Click is a phrase that will become second nature to you when you have an online business or engage in Internet marketing. There are several search engines that utilize a Pay-per-click structure. Knowledge of where to spend your Pay-per-Click budget is crucial to your level of success.How does Pay-per-Click work? Pay-per-click is a form of search engine optimization. Let’s say that you have a website which sells vitamin supplements. You want your website to have a high ranking on search engines so that you are more visible to potential customers.
At a Pay-per-Click search engine website you bid on the price you are willing to pay in return for a customer lead to your website. The customer lead is based on a keyword.
You have determined, for example, that one of your keywords for your vitamin supplement website is “order vitamins”. You would then bid on the price you will pay a search engine for each time a user clicks your link after searching for your keyword. For example, you bid $0.10 to have your advertisement on the search engine results after a user has typed in the keyword “order vitamins”. Now each time someone searches for "order vitamins" your are not charged $0.10, but if they click your link that is when you are charged. It might seem like that would add up quickly, but you have to keep in mind that these clicks are extremely targeted to your product or service. They just searched for that exact keyword after all.
What Pay-per-Click services are out there? The two most well known Pay-per-Click search engines include Google AdWords and Yahoo.
1. Google AdWords – Google takes it one step further by offering Google Adwords and Google AdSense.
Do you use Google Adwords or Google AdSense?
You would use Google Adwords if you are an advertiser that desires an increase in traffic to your website from Google and Google partners.
You would use Google AdSense if you have your own website and wish to create a partnership with Google. Google will place their advertisements on your website instead. These advertisements are the advertisements from Google AdWords users.
When you use Google AdSense, Google will divvy up the profits with you. The percentage you earn is usually around 50%. This 50% can add up quickly.
Let’s look at the vitamin supplement example. You have a vitamin supplement website and have partnered up with Google through Google AdSense. Google will supply you with a small piece of JavaScript to place in your website that will display Google advertisements related to vitamin supplements. (Remember, these advertisements come from Google AdWords advertisers.)
If someone clicks on one of Google’s advertisements on your website then you will earn a commission. Let’s say the highest bid by a Google AdWords advertiser was $1.50 per click. If a visitor to your website clicks on that advertisement then you will earn $0.75. That will start to add up very quickly.
2. Yahoo – The other “big” Pay-per-Click search engine.
3. There are numerous others including:
Just knowing which Pay-per-Click search engines to use is only half the battle, what really counts is knowing how to make them work for you. Let’s look at Google AdWords and Google AdSense more in depth to plot out a strategy that will have you raking in the money.
Google AdWords
You would use Google AdWords when you are marketing an affiliate’s product or your own product or service.The key to optimizing your Google Adwords advertising is to present your advertisement in a unique, engaging manner. You must stand out from the crowd and really grab the users attention.
How do you make your product jump off the webpage at the customer? It’s as simple as making a bold statement that elicits a sense of urgency and/or fear in your customer. A humorous statement can also grab a viewer’s attention.
Your advertisement should demonstrate that customer will suffer loss or even be the victim of fraud if they choose a different company for the same product or service. Be careful, though, and avoid mentioning specific names as this can erupt in a legal battle. Perception is everything and it is the perception you want to create.
Creating unique advertising copy can up the profitability of you Google AdWords advertisement in more ways then one. Your “Click Through Rate” otherwise known as your CTR will improve. The higher your CTR rating, the higher you are listed on Google’s sponsored results. Let me give a quick example. If your competitor has a CTR of 1.0 and is paying $1 per click and you have a CTR of 2.0, then you only need to bid $0.50 to be in the same position as him. That’s because Google multiplies your CTR with your Cost Per Click to determine your position on the site. This means the higher your CTR, the less you have to pay per click. This is awesome especially since you may be listed above competitors that are actually paying more per click than you are!
What are some examples of unique advertising copy?
An example of a fear based ad for vitamins would be:
“Stop Overpaying for Vitamins
Visit Us First and Learn.”
An example of a humorous ad for a work at home site would be:
“Ask to be Fired.
Now Work From Home.”
An example of a reverse psychology ad for car wax could be:
“Our Product Stinks!
But it works!”
Peruse through Google sponsored listings to find ads that you love, that you hate, and that you think is unique. If certain ads hit your funny bone or causes you to click on it out of fear then model your ads like the ones that grabbed your attention.
Google AdSense
Now let’s look at making money using Google AdSense. It seems as if all you have to do is place Google AdSense Ads on your website and then watch the money pour in. Not quite because you need traffic to come to your website first.There are several different ways to improve your website traffic. Many people believe that using Blogs and Search Engine Optimization (commonly referred to as SEO) will send traffic in droves. This is not true. Blogs and Search Engine Optimization are in fact relatively weak when it comes to driving traffic to your website. Blogs and SEO are relatively weak against what?
Being a Traffic Dealer
As a Traffic Dealer you will purchase keyword advertisements from the PPC Search Engines and send that same traffic back to Google via its Adsense program and earn money every time someone clicks. You can buy these keyword advertisements for the top listings on smaller pay-per-click websites. You may also consider another great strategy of buying Google Adwords keywords, but you must buy these at lowest price possible.By purchasing these keywords at the various PPC's, those visitors will be sent to your website for a specific keyword. This allows you to then barrage them with your Google AdSense advertisements. Design your website so that they will click on the Google AdSense advertisements as much as possible.
As a Traffic Dealer you utilize both Google AdWords and Google AdSense. It is a strategy that your competition has most likely not realized and you can jump in and take control of your advertising profits. Your profits increase because you pay far less for the Google AdWords advertisement than you earn on the Google AdSense advertisements.
Understanding this advertisement strategy is essential, but you also need to know which keywords to purchase. Advertisers that invest money in Google AdWords want their product to be displayed often and at the top of the sponsored list results. Therefore, you want to tap into the keywords that Google AdWords bidders will spend top dollar on.
The cheapest way to purchase keywords is to purchase them from any search except Google. Google is the most expensive. You could purchase a keyword from Search Feed for a much lower price then Google. That rule applies to all PPC's except for Google and Yahoo. All the rest of them work good for this strategy.
You could search for a specific keyword phrase such as “vitamin supplements” on the SearchFeed search engine. The keyword phrase may be at a price of $0.10 per click to achieve a spot at the top of the list. You would check with Yahoo using this Keyword Cost Tool to see the price advertisers are willing to pay for the same keyword phrase. Perhaps the advertisers are willing to pay a higher price of $1.60 for that same keyword phrase on Yahoo. This type of research allows you to compare the price differences what you'll be paying for the traffic vs. what you can make on it. Keep in mind that its usually about 50% of the price you see on Yahoo that you could expect to receive from Google Adsense. That's because Google splits the profits with you.
NOTE: The reason we use Yahoo to test the keyword price is because Google doesn't offer that information, and it's widely accepted that the price of a keyword on Yahoo is very similar to the price on Google for the same keyword.
After you have determined where to you spend the least amount of money for advertising through pay-per-click then you should focus on your website. Build a webpage that is dedicated to your keyword phrase. In this example you would build a webpage that is centered on the keyword phrase “vitamin supplements”.
What web content should place on this keyword phrase focused page? Make sure that you add valuable content that is NOT an advertisement. This is where the free articles that you have found regarding vitamin supplements fits in. You can place the advertisements in between paragraphs to have an easy flow for reading your webpage. Research other websites on the Internet and see how they handle advertisement placement on their webpages.
The main thing is that you don’t fill your webpage with only Google AdSense advertisements. You may be tempted to do this so that your website visitor has to click on your advertisements to proceed. Google looks down upon a webpage that is filled with only advertisements. They will most likely kick you out of the program. Plus, your website visitor may be annoyed. You want to have at least a couple paragraphs of quality information. You're not trying to just create pages for adsense, but you need to actually provide a service for the reader.
Remember that you need to create a webpage focused on your keyword phrase. You need to ensure that you build it correctly in order for Google to place the proper advertisements on your webpage.
In our example, you would place the keyword phrase “vitamin supplements” in the following locations on your webpage:
- Page title
- Heading Tag (H1 and H2)
- Meta tags
- Description tags
- Paragraph text (Create some of the phrases in a bold font.)
- A link with anchor text of “vitamin supplements” that takes the user back to your website homepage.
It’s all about variety…
We used the keyword phrase “vitamin supplements” on our example. However, you also want to use variations of this keyword phrase such as reduced cost vitamin supplements or free vitamin supplements, order vitamins online, etc. Don't forget to add the common misspells as well; supplements with only one "p" instead of two. Variation allows you to tap into more keyword phrases thus increasing your chance of clicks on your advertisements.Variation also applies to where you invest your money. Google typically pays a 50% commission. However, this percentage is not set in stone. The percentage can vary based on the advertisers that are currently participating in the program. Diversify the keywords you spend money on to avoid being stuck with the results of just one keyword or keyword phrase subject. It may feel like a game of hit and miss in the beginning when you are trying to figure out which keywords to use, but the effort is well worth it.
Quality versus Quantity…
Make sure to have a lot keyword variations that your buying traffic for. You may bid a small amount on Google AdWords such as $0.10 per click about “vitamin supplements”. But you will find that these ads for the main keywords won't get a very high listing at only $0.10 per click. I recommend that you use a lot of abnormal variations like; Order Cheap Vitamins Online, Order Discounted Vitamin Supplements, etc. You may do this because we have discussed that Google favors higher bids in their sponsored listing. Therefore, your listing may be towards the bottom of the list and not noticed as easily. By using longer and more unique key phrases you'll have a better chance to get listed higher up, then if you you chose the short common ones that are highly competitive like the keyword; Vitamins, or Order Vitamins.Your advertisement will most likely be clicked on fewer times due its placement, BUT you can still make money by sending the visitor to your website that is filled with high bid AdSense advertisements. AdSense advertisements on your webpage may have pay-per-click bids of $50 or more.
Yes, the click-through rates may be lower, but when they do occur you have big bid Google AdSense advertisements waiting for your visitor. So you will in fact make a good deal of money even with a low click-through rate. It will take testing and experience to determine how much you should invest and in what keywords. But once you learn this strategy it will continue to pump out money every day.
This works just the same for all the other PPC Search Engines. Just load them up with tons and tons of keywords that are variations of your sites main keyword.
VERY IMPORTANT: Do NOT Click your own adwords ads that you put on your site. Google monitors this very closely and will ban you from using their services if you click your own ads. This is because google is paying you per click, and they aren't going to pay you for you just clicking your own ads. They take this very seriously.
Start with lower priced keywords…
Confused whether you should go for the expensive or less expensive keywords? A great strategy is to put your money on the lower maximum bid keywords. Find keywords that are as low as $0.05. If a website visitor clicks on your advertisement then you pay $0.05. However, you present them with a Google AdSense website that has advertisements where you make $1.00. You have earned $0.95 if they click on one of your advertisements.To track the progress of each of your pages, Google allows you to create different channels for each domain you have with Google AdSense. This will allow you to determine which domains are raking in the money and which domains are not as successful and need to be tweaked a bit.
A picture is worth a thousand clicks…
The purpose of the Google AdSense advertisements on your website is to put money in your pocket. Therefore, you want to present them in the most engaging manner to prompt a user to click on them. Plain text is boring. Placing a picture on the advertisement is much more effective. Think about it. Pictures not only break up endless advertisement text, but are more pleasing to the eye. Plus, pictures have been found to yield four times as much in click-through values compared to picture-less advertisements. Wow! What a difference a picture can make!What you'll want to do is put the images right above your Google Adsense ads. Make sure to put a border around the pictures, because Google requires this type of formatting.
Take it to the next level…
You can try your hand at creating your very own search engine. This can be tricky. You would need to need to construct a search engine type website that has pre-populated search strings. You combine keywords from smaller search engines such as Searchfeed with sponsored results from Google. This is a very targeted and profitable way to make money online.You have learned here how to really profit from Google. Put these into your toolbox and start making some ridiculous money.



